CPA Program Information

A CPA designation is earned through the CPA Professional Education Program (CPA PEP). It prioritizes both academic study and relevant work experience.

The CPA Certification Program is a challenging and rigorous certification process that meets the needs of business, public practice and government.

The nationally developed, regionally delivered CPA Certification Program consists of:

  • Academic prerequisites including an undergraduate degree and specific subject area coverage
  • CPA Professional Education Program
  • Evaluation throughout and common final examination
  • Relevant practical work experience

Academic Prerequisites

A 4-year undergraduate degree, including specific subject area coverage, is required before starting the CPA Professional Education Program (CPA PEP). If your degree does not include the necessary subject area coverage, you may complete the equivalent coursework at a recognized post-secondary institution or through the preparatory courses for the CPA program.

Subject Area Coverage

Specific courses will vary by educational institution but candidates will be required to have completed these 14 required subject areas: 

  1. Introductory Financial Accounting
  2. Introductory Management Accounting
  3. Economics
  4. Statistics
  5. Intermediate Financial Reporting 1
  6. Intermediate Financial Reporting 2
  7. Advanced Financial Reporting
  8. Corporate Finance
  9. Peformance Management
  10. Audit and Assurance
  11. Taxation
  12. Intermediate Management Accounting
  13. Business Law
  14. Information Technology

Take the first step on the path to your designation by visiting Start on Your CPA Path Today.